Report Animal Concerns

Boost Compliance Knowledge

The Laboratory Animal Research Coordinator Certification (LARCC) Program, established in September 2019, provides an opportunity for the University of Michigan research community to engage in the Animal Care & Use Program through education and networking.

The 10-week LARCC Program consists of weekly 4-hour class sessions led by leadership and experts from the Animal Care & Use (ACU) Program as well as other supplementary departments.

Applications Now Open for the 2024 LARCC Program Cohort

The 2024 LARCC Program will run every Wednesday beginning September 11 – November 13, 2024, from 8:00 AM – 12:00 PM at the North Campus Research Complex.

Applications should be submitted by 5:00 PM on Friday, August 16, 2024, via InfoReady Review.

SUBMIT An application for the 2024 LARCC program cohort

Upon Program completion, certified Laboratory Animal Research Coordinators (LARCs) are deemed “subject matter experts” and can use their knowledge to facilitate the successful and efficient use of animals in research at the U-M.

LARCC Program Benefits

  • Extensive training to boost your compliance knowledge in all aspects of the ACU Program;
  • Forming valuable relationships with ACU Program Leadership and other departmental experts;
  • Learning tips and tricks to streamline administrative processes associated with compliance;
  • Recognition from the University of Michigan and ACU Program Leadership Team; and
  • Exclusive membership to the LARCC Advocacy Committee that works in conjunction with the Animal Care & Use Faculty Advocacy Committee (ACU-FAC

About the LARCC Program

LARCC Program Topics Include:

  • The History of Animal Research;
  • Engaging with the Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee (IACUC);
  • Protocol Writing and Review;
  • Animal Research and the Public, with presenters from Media Relations and the U-M Division of Public Safety & Security (DPSS);
  • Engaging with the ULAM Veterinary Team; and
  • Much more!

SCHEDULE

TOPIC

Day 1

Welcome & Introduction

Boosting Your Compliance Confidence

Day 2

A History of Animal Research Compliance and How U-M Satisfies Current Regulations

Day 3

A History of Animal Research Compliance and How U-M Satisfies Current Regulations (continued)

Where the Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee (IACUC) Meets the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Unit for Laboratory Animal Medicine (ULAM) Business Office

Day 4

Meet Your IACUC

Non-Compliance Scenarios

Managing an Animal Research Laboratory – A PI’s Perspective

Day 5

Engaging with the Animal Care & Use Program’s Veterinary Team

Compassion Awareness Project

Day 6

The Animal Care & Use Protocol: Submission to Approval

Day 7

Protecting Yourself from Laboratory Hazards

Day 8

The Unit for Laboratory Animal Medicine

Day 9

ULAM Training Core & Technical Services

Managing Controlled Substances Used for Research

Day 10

Animal Research & the General Public

What LARCC Participants Are Saying

Well worth the time

Enjoyed every minute

Eye-opening experience

I am already using the connections I made

LARCC Program Participants

NAMEDEPARTMENTEMAIL ADDRESS
Sara AtonMolecular, Cellular & Developmental Biologysaton@umich.edu
Maria BeamerPediatric Rheumatologymbeamer@med.umich.edu
Peter (Zhengyi) CaoMichigan Nanotechnology Institutezhengyi@umich.edu
Carina CastellanosPsychologycarinalc@umich.edu
Madison ClausenPediatric Hematology/Oncologyclausema@umich.edu
Traci CramerEmergency Medicinecrtraci@umich.edu
Jen DelpropostoPediatric Pulmonaryjlbodzin@umich.edu
Caroline FosterRheumatology Biobankfcarolin@med.umich.edu
Margaret GacaULAM Training Coregacama@med.umich.edu
Varsha GanesanMary H. Weiser Food Allergy Centerganesava@med.umich.edu
Madison HarmonAnimal Care & Use Officemadiharm@umich.edu
Stace KernodleSurgerykernodle@umich.edu
Amy KransNeurologykransa@umich.edu
Nicole MigotskyOrthopaedic Surgerymigotskn@umich.edu
Zade MooreMichigan Neuroscience Institutezadem@umich.edu
Patrick RobichaudMetabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetesprobicha@med.umich.edu
Karla Salgado PugaPsychologyksalgado@umich.edu
Anne ScruggsInternal Medicine – Pulmonary/Critical Carehartmann@med.umich.edu
Ngai SoInternal Medicinesongai@med.umich.edu
Jennifer SpethInternal Medicine – Pulmonary/Critical Carejspeth@umich.edu
Jonah-Isabella Sta-MonicaMolecular & Integrative Physiologystamonic@umich.edu
Zhuwen WangRadiation Oncologyzhuwenw@med.umich.edu
Liping ZhangGeneral Surgeryzhanglp@umich.edu
NAMEDEPARTMENTEMAIL ADDRESS
Iyabode AjayiOphthalmology & Visual Sciencesoabatan@med.umich.edu
Marie AndersonOtolaryngologymarieand@umich.edu
Timothy ChaMichigan Neuroscience Institutechatim@umich.edu
Ashley CornettBiomedical Engineeringarieck@umich.edu
Madeliene GranilloPsychologyayoubma@umich.edu
Marisa HildebrandtDermatologymahildeb@umich.edu
Amanda HuberRadiation Oncologyhubera@umich.edu
Ryan LashNeurologyrylash@med.umich.edu
Kristin LeeMichigan Neuroscience Institutestrydhkg@umich.edu
Kelsey MartinPeriodontics and Oral Medicinekelsmart@umich.edu
Enisa MuhaxhiriNeurologymenisa@umich.edu
Michael NewsteadInternal Medicine – Pulmonary/Critical Carenewstead@umich.edu
Diana RiganNeurologydrigan@umich.edu
Claudia SaveskiPharmacologysaveskcd@umich.edu
Abigail TomlinsonMetabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetesabto@umich.edu
Kimberly VendrovInternal Medicine – Infectious Diseaseskvendrov@umich.edu
Kristy WarnerDental Cariology, Restorative Sciences & Endodonticskawarner@umich.edu
Kari Wilder-RomansRadiation Oncologykariwi@med.umich.edu
Zhongying YangMolecular, Cellular & Developmental Biologyyangzy@umich.edu
NAMEDEPARTMENTEMAIL ADDRESS
Carol DavisMolecular & Integrative Physiologycsdav@umich.edu
Trisha DuvalULAM – Germ-Free Mouse Facilitytdenike@umich.edu
Carlos EspinozaSurgery Researchceespino@umich.edu
Leonor Floran GardunoAnesthesiologyfloranlg@umich.edu
Diana Flores-DiazInternal Medicine – Hematology/Oncologydianafl@umich.edu
Nick GreerEmergency Medicinenlgreer@umich.edu
Erin GruleyEmergency Medicineegruley@umich.edu
Kathy IgnatoskiSurgerykwi@umich.edu
Taocong JinDentistrytcjin@umich.edu
Karen KessellOrthopaedic Surgerykarenich@umich.edu
Faye MendelsonNeurologyfayemend@umich.edu
Jana MoonPlastic Surgery/Orthopaedic Surgeryfjana@umich.edu
Pamela PattersonMichigan Neuroscience Institutepmaras@umich.edu
Carole QuesadaRadiologycquesada@umich.edu
Andrew RaskyPathologyarasky@umich.edu
Kelli RuleSurgeryklerule@umich.edu
Natalie WalkerPulmonary/Critical Carenataliew@umich.edu
Joshua WestPharmacologyjlwest@umich.edu
Jifeng ZhangInternal Medicine – Cardiovascular Medicinejifengz@umich.edu
NAMEDEPARTMENTEMAIL ADDRESS
Kiril ChtraklinGeneral Surgerykchtrak@umich.edu
Nicole FalkowskiPulmonary Medicinenrobson@umich.edu
Sara GroveSurgery, Immunology & Biologysargrove@umich.edu
Guadalupe Guerrero-SernaInternal Medicine – Cardiovascular Medicinegpegros@umich.edu
Heather HagerOphthalmology & Visual Scienceshlindner@umich.edu
Pam LincolnPathologyplincoln@umich.edu
Cathy LukeVascular Surgerycluke@umich.edu
Brandon LumaPsychologybdluma@umich.edu
Brendan McCrackenEmergency Medicinebmccrac@umich.edu
Bonnie Brooker-NolanOrthopaedic Surgerybnolan@umich.edu
Mary NoratAnesthesiologymnorat@umich.edu
Dilip PawarOphthalmology & Visual Sciencesdpawar@umich.edu
Sara SmithMicrology & Immunologysarazak@umich.edu
Jenelle StauffRadiologyjrstauff@umich.edu
Rachel StephensonMolecular, Cellular & Developmental Biologyrestep@umich.edu
Shannon VanAkenEmergency Medicineshanbrew@umich.edu
Shuang WeiSurgery, Immunology & Biologyshuawei@umich.edu
Savannah WilliamsLife Sciences Institutesywill@umich.edu
Libby ZiemkeRadiologyeziemke@umich.edu

Questions?

Last updated: