Laboratory Animal Research Coordinator Certification Program

2019 LARCC Program graduate receives certificate from Institutional Official Rebecca Cunningham, MDThe Laboratory Animal Research Coordinator Certification (LARCC) Program, established in September 2019, provides an opportunity for the University of Michigan research community to engage in the Animal Care & Use (ACU) Program through education and networking.

The 10-week program consists of weekly 4-hour class sessions lead by leadership and experts from the ACU Program as well as other supplementary departments.

Upon Program completion, certified Laboratory Animal Research Coordinators (LARCs) are deemed “subject matter experts” and can use their knowledge to facilitate the successful and efficient use of animals in research at the U-M.

LARCC Program Topics Include:

  • The History of Animal Research;
  • Engaging with the Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee (IACUC);
  • Protocol Writing and Review;
  • Animal Research and the Public, with presenters from Media Relations and the U-M Division of Public Safety & Security (DPSS);
  • Engaging with the ULAM Veterinary Team; and
  • Much more!

LARCC Program Benefits Include:

  • Extensive training to boost your compliance knowledge in all aspect of the ACU Program;
  • Forming valuable relationships with ACU Program Leadership and other departmental experts;
  • Learning tips and tricks to streamline administrative processes associated with compliance;
  • Recognition from the University of Michigan and ACU Program Leadership Team; and
  • Exclusive membership to the LARCC Advocacy Committee that works in conjunction with the Animal Care & Use Faculty Advocacy Committee (ACU-FAC)  
  • More benefits aimed at decreasing regulatory burden coming soon!

What Participants Are Saying About the Program

Quotes from 2019 LARCC Program participants

 

Program Participants

NAME DEPARTMENT EMAIL ADDRESS
Kiril Chtraklin General Surgery kchtrak@umich.edu
Nicole Falkowski Pulmonary Medicine nrobson@umich.edu
Sara Grove Surgery, Immunology & Biology sargrove@umich.edu
Guadalupe Guerrero-Serna Internal Medicine – Cardiovascular Medicine gpegros@umich.edu
Heather Hager Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences hlindner@umich.edu
Pam Lincoln Pathology plincoln@umich.edu
Cathy Luke Vascular Surgery cluke@umich.edu
Brandon Luma Psychology bdluma@umich.edu
Brendan McCracken Emergency Medicine bmccrac@umich.edu
Bonnie Brooker-Nolan Orthopaedic Surgery bnolan@umich.edu
Mary Norat Anesthesiology mnorat@umich.edu
Dilip Pawar Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences dpawar@umich.edu
Sara Smith Micrology & Immunology sarazak@umich.edu
Jenelle Stauff Radiology jrstauff@umich.edu
Rachel Stephenson Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology restep@umich.edu
Shannon VanAken Emergency Medicine shanbrew@umich.edu
Shuang Wei Surgery, Immunology & Biology shuawei@umich.edu
Savannah Williams Life Sciences Institute sywill@umich.edu
Libby Ziemke Radiology eziemke@umich.edu

Questions?

To learn more about the LARCC Program, please contact the Quality Assurance (QA) Team in the Animal Care & Use Office at ACU-QATeam@med.umich.edu